January 31st, 2009Welcome to the new St. Austin Review website!by Joseph Pearce

Welcome to the new, revamped St. Austin Review website! As of today, I will be checking the website regularly, and writing for it frequently. I'm pleased to say that I will be joined by a small team of colleagues who will also be writing regularly for the site. Please check this space daily to be sure that you are missing nothing!

As subscribers to StAR will know already, the magazine's mission is to evangelize the culture through the power of culture. This is a personal passion of mine, largely due to the fact that I was brought to the Catholic Faith through the power of Catholic culture and what might be called cultural apologetics. I believe that the riches of Catholic art, music and literature can bring people to the Faith through the power of goodness, truth and beauty. What a wealth of treasures we have at our disposal: Giotto, Leonardo DaVinci, Michelangelo, Fra Angelico; Gregorian chant, polyphony, and the works of Bach, Mozart, Mahler, Bruckner, Pärt; Dante, Chaucer, Shakespeare. Et cetera ...

And speaking of Shakespeare, I am heading to EWTN this weekend to film a thirteen-part series on the evidence of Shakespeare's Catholicism to be gleaned from the deepest level of meaning in his plays. This is a follow-up series to the thirteen-part series I filmed last year which looks at the biographical evidence for the Bard's Catholicism. This first series, which is entitled "The Quest for Shakespeare", is due to be broadcast this March. See the EWTN schedule for more details. During my two weeks' sojourn at EWTN we will also be filming an hour-long Tolkien special, which is exciting, and I will be appearing live on Father Pacwa's show next Wednesday evening.

So much for the latest news. Watch this space for more ...

Enjoy this post? Share it with others.

Facebook Favicon TwitThis Favicon

What are your thoughts on the subject?

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

Submit the word you see below:


  • March 22 2009 | by Pelham

    Could you help me. After I'm dead I'd rather have people ask why I have no monument than why I have one.
    I am from Libya and also now am reading in English, give please true I wrote the following sentence: "Globalairlinetickets offers cheap vacation packages, cheap airline tickets! Express airline tickets global airline tickets website templates domain."

    Thanks grin. Pelham.
  • March 24 2009 | by Vincent

    Badly need your help. The toughest question has always been, "How do you get your ideas?" How do you answer that? It's like asking runners how they run, or singers how they sing. They just do it! Help me! Looking for sites on: Airline ticket reservations how to get a discount on your airline tickets? Discount airline tickets to over countries and thousands of cities all over.. I found only this - Airline Tickets. Airline paper tickets will be consigned to history this weekend years after being introduced to protect passengers rights. Cheap airline tickets, we check daily to find you a cheap tickets on airline fares. THX :cool:, Vincent from Grenada.
  • April 30 2010 | by Sony Cyber shot DSC

    I have been looking looking around for this kind of information. Will you post some more in future? I’ll be grateful if you will. Sony Cyber shot DSC
  • July 1 2010 | by best ecommerce solution

    Web pages are accessed and transported with the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP), which may optionally employ encryption (HTTP Secure, HTTPS) to provide security and privacy for the user of the web page content.best ecommerce solution
  • July 20 2010 | by SEO Master

    For example, a website such as an online auctions website may charge the users of its auction service to list an auction, but also display third-party advertisements on the site, from which it derives further income.SEO Master
  • July 23 2010 | by square peg web

    The forms website and Web site are the most commonly used forms, the former especially in British English. However, Reuters, Microsoft, academia, large book publishers, The Chicago Manual of Style, and dictionaries such as Merriam-Webster.square peg web
  • August 24 2010 | by seo

    It could be the work of an individual, a business or other organization, and is typically dedicated to some particular topic or purpose. Any website can contain a hyperlink to any other website, so the distinction between individual sites, as perceived by the user, may sometimes be blurred.seo
  • September 13 2010 | by Marketing

    A website is hosted on a computer system known as a web server, also called an HTTP server, and these terms can also refer to the software that runs on these systems and that retrieves and delivers the web pages in response to requests from the website users.Marketing
  • September 17 2010 | by link building prices

    Websites occasionally derive income from a combination of these two practices. For example, a website such as an online auctions website may charge the users of its auction service to list an auction, but also display third-party advertisements on the site, from which it derives further income.link building prices
  • September 21 2010 | by stock market today

    Visitors can get access to up-to-date information on your website con every new visit. If you have a sale season going on, your customers will know instantly and can drop down and shop at discounted rates -- hats off to email convenience! The cost of spreading your message is next to nothing. Emailing your subscription base is more often cheaper than sending a letter through the mail. But it turns out to be that the disadvantages of Internet marketing outnumber the advantages...
    <a href="http://www.stockexchangeupdates.com/">stock market today</a>
  • September 28 2010 | by Drake27Liz

    Have no cash to buy a building? Worry no more, because it is real to get the <a href="http://bestfinance-blog.com/topics/home-loans">home loans</a> to solve all the problems. Therefore get a sba loan to buy everything you require.
  • September 29 2010 | by winstonterr

    Hi,
    I am looking for software that can track the websites and webpages a user has visited. For example, I am operating a wireless router that connects 5-7 users to the Internet. I am interested in what are these people are doing with my wireless service, as in are they abusing the wireless service that I am providing to them?I am interested in how much time they are spending on the Internet, what websites they have visited or the webpages they are surfing and if they are downloading materials.I know that such software are available on the open market but so far, I'm not sure where to find them. I am hoping for examples of such software that I can use.Furthermore, I also wonder if the users on my wireless router can block such tracking software or If they can tack my attempts to follow them or if they will be aware if I am using such software to track them.I understand that large networks and corporations routinely use such software. Are such software very expensive?
    Microsoft Product Key
  • September 30 2010 | by scot

    I am heading to EWTN this weekend to film a thirteen-part series on the evidence of Shakespeare's Catholicism to be gleaned from the deepest level of meaning in his plays. This is a follow-up series .<a href="http://www.medicalbillers.org/medical-billing-and-coding-as-related-skill-sets/">medical billing and coding</a>
  • October 18 2010 | by link building cost

    A website is hosted on a computer system known as a web server, also called an HTTP server, and these terms can also refer to the software that runs on these systems and that retrieves and delivers the web pages in response to requests from the website users.link building cost
  • October 21 2010 | by dress

    MP5 Player - Wholesale MP5 Players - Cheap MP5 Video Player
    MP5 Player
    MP4 Player
    Wholesale Electronics
    Mobile Phone