Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • February 14th, 2014The Silence of the Lambsby Joseph Pearce

    The broken heart of marriage leads to broken-hearted children ...

    Here's my latest article for The Imaginative Conservative:

    http://www.theimaginativeconservative.org/2014/02/silence-lambs-marriage-debate.html

    » Continue Reading
  • February 14th, 2014The Gates of Hell and the Everlasting Churchby Joseph Pearce

    I've just replied to an e-mail from a good and holy priest in England. I'm not publishing his e-mail in order to maintain his privacy but I thought my own reply, especially the comments about the history of the Church and the gates of hell, might interest visitors to the Ink Desk:

    » Continue Reading
  • February 13th, 2014Monsters of the Zeitgeistby Joseph Pearce

    When I next return to Thomas More College in New Hampshire at the beginning of March, I'll be teaching Mary Shelley's Frankenstein as part of a tutorial on British Romanticism. I haven't taught it for several years and am looking forward to engaging with its monstrous truths with my students. We'll be using the Ignatius Critical Edition of the work, which I recommend and not merely because I was the editor of it. It contains some simply superb critical essays on the deeper meanings of the novel.

    As my mind turns to Mary Shelley's original novel, I was intrigued to see an article in today's Crisis Magazine about a new film adaptation, which unleashes the monsters of our own deplorable zeitgeist. The movie seems horrid but the article about it is insightful and stimulating:

    » Continue Reading
  • February 10th, 2014Future Speaking Engagementsby Joseph Pearce

    I'm in the midst of possibly the busiest speaking schedule I've ever undertaken. I returned from giving the keynote speech at a fundraising dinner for the JMJ Pregnancy Center in Orlando yesterday. Here's my schedule for the next two weeks. If I'm coming to your area, I hope you will be able to come and meet me. It's always a pleasure to meet Ink Deskers on my travels.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 9th, 2014My Life in Show Businessby Kevin O'Brien

    Here's a run down of the past 72 hours.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 8th, 2014Hell, Heroism & Holiness: Preview of the Next Issueby Joseph Pearce

    The March/April issue of the St. Austin Review is winging its way to the printers.

    The theme of the next issue is World War One: Hell, Heroism and Holiness

    Highlights include:

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2014Christopher Dawson and Christian Historyby Daniel J. Heisey

    Seventy years ago Sir Basil Liddell-Hart wrote a little book, Why Don’t We Learn from History?  An American military historian, Jay Luvaas, used to joke, “It ought to have been called, ‘Why don’t you learn what I already know?’”  A perennial frustration for teachers is wondering what, if anything, their students have been taught in earlier stages of education.  Apparently no one has ever mentioned to them the name of Christopher Dawson.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2014Explaining My Absenceby Joseph Pearce

    Regular visitors to the Ink Desk will know that I do my best to post to the site on a regular and frequent basis. Such visitors will no doubt have noticed my protracted absence and might be wondering why I seem to have disappeared from the face of the earth - or at least from my place at the Desk.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2014Reading with Knightsby Joseph Pearce

    I was interviewed recently for the Knights of Columbus website, Fathers for Good, about the importance of reading for the healthy development of children. The article has just been posted:

    http://www.fathersforgood.org/ffg/en/big_four/reading_time.html

    » Continue Reading
  • February 6th, 2014Joseph Pearce and J. R. R. Tolkienby Kevin O'Brien

    In case you haven't seen it, Marcus Grodi interviewed Joseph Pearce on The Journey Home this week.  Joseph talks about his journey from hate-filled neo-Nazi skinhead and prison inmate to loving Christian author, husband and father.  It's a remarkable story, and Joseph tells it as well in his book Race with the Devil.  

    » Continue Reading
  • January 29th, 2014Behold: A Light Shines in the East:by Dena Hunt

    Behold: A Light Shines in the East:

    http://www.lifesitenews.com/news/russia-proposes-to-expand-law-to-ban-propaganda-of-all-sex-to-minors

    » Continue Reading
  • January 29th, 2014Are Progressives Really Closet Racists?by Joseph Pearce

    I ask and answer this question (in the affirmative) in my latest article for the Imaginative Conservative:

    http://www.theimaginativeconservative.org/2014/01/progressives-really-closet-racists.html#more-41209

    » Continue Reading
  • January 29th, 2014A Punk Rocker Returns to the Faithby Joseph Pearce

    In my book, Race with the Devil, there is a chapter about my involvement with the punk and skinhead music scene in the 1970s and 1980s. At the beginning of another chapter in the book I quote from the iconic punk anthem, "White Riot", by the equally iconic punk pioneers, The Clash. This being so, I was delighted to learn that the drummer with the Clash had returned to the practice of his childhood Catholic faith. I was also highly pleased to see that C. S. Lewis's Mere Christianity was the stimulus and catalyst that began the former punk rocker's journey back home. Here's the full story:

     http://catholicnewslive.com/story/118679

    » Continue Reading
  • January 28th, 2014On the Imperative of Snow Daysby Matthew Chominski

    Writing now in the midst of winter, I’d like to address a certain sort of winter day that flits about the calendar and weather reports in an almost fantastical and mythical fashion, that is, the Snow Day. What I’d like to suggest is that there are benefits stemming from the Snow Day that go beyond the securing of safety, even beyond the momentary rest and relief it offers. What I’d like to propose is the idea that the Snow Day makes possible some deep human benefits, such that the following considerations should be kept in mind by Catholic educators when deliberating whether to call for a Snow Day or not. (To provide some disclosure, I myself am a teacher at a Catholic secondary school, though I assure the reader that what follows issues from more than just interest in having more days at home throughout the winter.)

    » Continue Reading
  • January 28th, 2014We’re Not Aloneby Dena Hunt

    Sometimes, we have to wonder if all us humans live in the same universe. Most of us have seen the litany—or a portion of it—of a few among us who are regarded now as not worth “salvaging,” lives not worth—dare we say it?—not worth living. It’s a long list of those who, by today’s measurements, should have been eliminated (the real word is killed) in the womb. There are many in that litany—though only Beethoven springs to my mind at present. It’s good to know we’re not alone; we’re not the only ones who know that God’s measure is different.

    » Continue Reading
  • January 27th, 2014Discussing Chesterton’s Finest Novelby Joseph Pearce

    Over the past few years I've done many interviews with Kris McGregor on the Great Works of Western Literature. The latest of the interviews, which are aired on the Spirit Catholic Radio Network, is on Chesterton's finest novel,The Man Who was Thursday:

    » Continue Reading
  • January 26th, 2014Reclamation of Language, Reclamation of Realityby Dena Hunt

    To start off, I’ll just copy from my handy Mac dictionary:

    Nominalism: the doctrine that universals or general ideas are mere names without any corresponding reality … Often contrasted with realism (sense 3).

    » Continue Reading
  • January 25th, 2014Alfred the Great: Beyond the Bare Bonesby Joseph Pearce

    I was interviewed in the wake of the recent discovery of what are alleged to be the bones of King Alfred the Great: 


    » Continue Reading
  • January 24th, 2014Remembering a Forgotten Poetby Joseph Pearce

    My latest article for the Imaginative Conservative is on the great but sadly neglected poet, Francis Thompson:

    http://www.theimaginativeconservative.org/2014/01/remembering-forgotten-poet.html

    » Continue Reading
  • January 23rd, 2014If Chaucer Joined the March for Lifeby Joseph Pearce

    Surely the Ink Desk must be the only blog on the entire world wide web which would publish a melding of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales with a girl's experience on the March for Life. Here is a simply superb imitation of Chaucer's General Prologue in which the pilgrims are pro-lifers heading for Washington DC and not a motley crew of mediaeval pilgrims heading for Canterbury.  

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 5 of 105 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?