Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • February 10th, 2012Preview of the Next Issueby Joseph Pearce

    The March/April issue of the St. Austin Review (www.staustinreview.com) is winging its way to the printers.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 10th, 2012A Reluctant Pilgrim at Lourdesby Lorraine V. Murray

    Many Catholics would be eager to be given an all-expenses-paid trip to Lourdes, but there are some who might decline. After all, not everyone is keen on overseas travel, not to mention the huge crowds that gather there.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 10th, 2012The Unity of Catholicsby Joseph Pearce

    I've just received an e-mail from someone lamenting the implicit acceptance of the contraceptive culture amongst Catholics. Here's my response:

    » Continue Reading
  • February 8th, 2012Chesterton and Benedict XVIby Dena Hunt

    Professor Andrea Monda will present a perspective that compares the Holy Father with G. K. Chesterton at the conclusion Saturday of the Chesterton conference in Genoa.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 8th, 2012One More Standingby Sophia Mason

    In the last day or so Joseph has called attention to two genuinely Catholic colleges that have taken a stand agains the HHS mandate.  I'm happy to say that my Alma Mater is doing the same!

    » Continue Reading
  • February 8th, 2012Adam and Eve Go to Marriage Counselingby Kevin O'Brien

    My touring troupe, The Theater of the Word Incorporated will present Adam and Eve Go to Marriage Counseling, the world's first comedy based on the "Theology of the Body".

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2012Metamorphosisby Joseph Pearce

    One morning, as Uncle Sam was awaking from a bad dream, he discovered that he'd been transformed into a monstrous cockroach.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2012Ave Maria University Takes a Standby Joseph Pearce

    Having praised William Fahey, President of Thomas More College, for his courageous stand against the Obamination emanating from DC, I am delighted that the president of the university at which I teach, Ave Maria, has also come out fighting. Here is the statement by AMU President, Jim Towey, in which he states explicitly that Ave Maria University will not comply with the Obama Care mandate.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2012Revisiting the Classicsby Joseph Pearce

    The indomitable Louis Markos, irrepressible champion of Lewis and Chesterton and author of From Achilles to Christ: Why Christians Should Read the Pagan Classics, has adapted two plays by Euripedes. Here's Lou's e-mail with associated links:

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2012From Star-Gazing to Birdwatchingby Joseph Pearce

    Having just posted something on the beauty of God to be found in the stars, I really had to share this wonderful two-minute video. It speaks for itself but its beauty is not only in the breathtaking aerial display by the birds but in the breathless reaction of the two girls when they are surprised by it.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2012We’re All in the Gutter…by Joseph Pearce

    ... but some of us are looking at the stars. Oscar Wilde's famous epigram came to mind as I saw this astonishing image of a supernova (see below). In the presence of such majesty expressed to us with such magnificence and with such magnitude, we are reminded of our own smallness but also of the greatness of God. Those who can see beyond the gutter of materialism can see in the stars not only God's magnificence but his munificence. The supernova is supernatural generosity made visible for those with eyes to see.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 7th, 2012Thomas More College Takes a Standby Joseph Pearce

    Having been heartened by the courage of the vast majority of US bishops in the face of the Obama regime's draconian attack on the religious liberty of Catholics, I am similarly heartened by the courageous stance of William Fahey, President of Thomas More College in New Hampshire (see below). 

    » Continue Reading
  • February 6th, 2012Lest We Forget: Remembering the Realities of Communismby Joseph Pearce

    In these days in which the Obama administration is flexing its big government muscles in the service of secular fundamentalism, it is as well to remember where such a line of reasoning often leads. With this in mind, I'm posting a thought-provoking e-mail from Kirk Kramer.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 4th, 2012Monarch of All I Surveyby Sophia Mason

    Reading over a writer’s account of her brief acquaintance with the late Christopher Hitchens, it struck me that the first problem of an atheist is that he is bound to be a lonely person. Hitchens, of course, was temperamentally lonely: so irascible by nature, so little prone to give his fellow men credit for virtue, that he was bound to isolation. Those whom he got along best with seem to have shared his critical personality and, even more tellingly, seem to have spent little time with him. A dedicated iconoclast is a dangerous person to befriend.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 3rd, 2012C.S. Lewis and Friendsby Joseph Pearce

    Further to my post about Shadowlands, I thought I'd share this e-mail just received from the organisers of an annual conference on C. S. Lewis and Friends, at which I've been privileged to speak in the past. Admirers of Lewis and Tolkien might want to consider attending.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 3rd, 2012Secular Fundamentalism and Religious Freedomby Joseph Pearce

    Just received from Tony Ryan of Ignatius Press (see below).

    » Continue Reading
  • February 2nd, 2012From the Red Devils to the Priesthoodby Joseph Pearce

    As an Englishman, I am passionate about football, i.e. soccer to those on the American side of the Pond. Ever since I was about seven-years-old, I've been a keen supporter of Chelsea, currently one of the best teams in Europe, though I've followed the team through the bad times when the team plumbed depths of ineptitude. One of Chelsea's biggest rivals are Manchester United, also known as the Red Devils, indicative no doubt of their infernal origins. In any event, I was greatly intrigued and encouraged to see that a former Manchester United player is now studying for the priesthood. It goes to show that there is life after death!

    » Continue Reading
  • February 2nd, 2012Obama’s War on Religionby Paul Adams

    In the words of John Paul II (Veritatis Splendor, N. 101):

    Today, when many countries have seen the fall of ideologies which bound politics to a totalitarian conception of the world — Marxism being the foremost of these — there is no less grave a danger that the fundamental rights of the human person will be denied and that the religious yearnings which arise in the heart of every human being will be absorbed once again into politics.
    » Continue Reading
  • February 2nd, 2012Their Last Communionby Fr. Simon Henry

    When is a Catholic not a Catholic? That is to say, just how far removed from the practice of the Church and from any ongoing relationship with the Church do you have to be before it can be said that you are no longer a Catholic? Included in this is the question of whether a person has any prayer life or relationship—daily, weekly, yearly—with the Lord. Of course, it's then said that we must not judge and many such lapsed may be living "good" lives but I think even with the most generous of interpretations, this could not be claimed of the present situation. Those that are lapsed are for the most part gone from prayer, from Christian living and from a Christian world-view—they follow the world on moral values and live their lives according to the norms of their neighbours rather than those of the Gospel.

    » Continue Reading
  • February 1st, 2012A Grief Observedby Joseph Pearce

    Last night, having watched the episode of Sir Kenneth Clark's Civilisation, which was the subject of my previous post, I also watched the BBC adaptation of Shadowlands, starring Joss Ackland and Clare Bloom, as C. S. Lewis and Joy Gresham respectively. This version is so much the superior of the later Hollywood version, starring Anthony Hopkins and Debra Winger, that the two do not even warrant serious comparison.

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 64 of 105 pages « First  <  62 63 64 65 66 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?