Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • June 6th, 2012It Really Is About Religious Freedom …by Dena Hunt

    … and not about contraception at all. Nothing here is new. It’s been done before and with great success.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 6th, 2012Blessed William Greenwood - English Martyrby Joseph Pearce

    Blessed William Greenwood was one of the eighteen Carthusian Martyrs put to death by Henry VIII between 1535 and1537. Whereas the first martyrs were hanged, drawn (i.e. disemboweled while still alive) and then quartered, the fourth and final group of martyrs, one of whom was Greenwood, were simply chained with their hands behind their backs in a cell in London's Newgate Prison and left to die of starvation.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 6th, 2012The HHS Mandateby Bruce Fingerhut

    This fine piece on the HHS Mandate from Gerard V. Bradley from the University of Notre Dame Law School is well worth a good read.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 6th, 2012Pope Benedict Calls on U.S. Catholicsby Fr. Simon Henry

    EWTN News reports that the man behind organising the recent 'ad limina' visits of America's bishops to Rome, British born Mgr. Anthony Figueirdo, says that Pope Benedict has called on the U.S. Catholic Church to help rescue and revive Christian culture.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 6th, 2012Bad Peopleby Sophia Mason

    I so badly wanted for this to be a good movie.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 5th, 2012The Shakespeare Warsby Joseph Pearce

    A controversy is raging on my post, "Shakespeare: Defence & Defecation".

    As a taste of the full-blown discussion, I'm posting my latest broadside in the Shakespeare Wars here.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 5th, 2012Chesterton versus Christopher Hitchensby Joseph Pearce

    Here's an interesting post from today's Crisis Magazine, defending Chesterton against Christopher Hitchens:

    http://www.crisismagazine.com/2012/who-dares-attack-my-chesterton

    » Continue Reading
  • June 5th, 2012What Would Tolkien Read?by Joseph Pearce

    I've received an e-mail from the mother of a twelve-year-old asking my advice on what books a Tolkien enthusiast should read. Her e-mail began with the question, "what books would Tolkien recommend to a young writer?" Here's the text of the relevant part of her e-mail, with my response below.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 4th, 2012Chaucer & His Age: Preview of the Next Issueby Joseph Pearce

    The next issue of StAR is with the proofreaders. Here’s a preview of what our subscribers can expect when their next issue is delivered. If you have not yet subscribed, please support our apostolate by doing so. You can subscribe online from this very site. It’s never been easier!

    The theme of the July/August issue is “Chaucer & His Age”. Highlights include:

    » Continue Reading
  • June 4th, 2012Which Fundamentalism is Worse?by Joseph Pearce

    One of the songs that I occasionally sing to my son at the breakfast table is "Morning Has Broken", which was a huge hit for Cat Stevens in the early-seventies. I like the song for its Franciscan-Hopkinsesque evocation of the spiritual beauty of nature. Recently, I thought I'd play the original track and selected it on You Tube. I noted that the person who had posted the track had warned that all abusive comments related to Stevens' conversion to Islam would be removed. For those who don't know, Cat Stevens caused controversy many years ago when he became a Muslim. He now goes by the name of Yusuf Islam.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 2nd, 2012Holy Ground?by Dena Hunt

    I’ve just returned from a vacation, the first I’ve had in—actually, I don’t know. There was a two-days trip to St Simon’s in January to visit a friend who, as it turned out, was not all that happy to see me. (Mysterious as the ways of seeming-love are those of seeming-friendship sometimes, but all that is another story.) Before that, I took a trip to Virginia for the lovely wedding of a young friend nearly two years ago. And before that, all is darkness. The perpetual problem is the difficulty of finding a good pet-sitter, but I know that, at bottom, I’m simply reclusive, practically a hermit, really.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 1st, 2012Seer: A Wizard’s Journalby Jef Murray

    Greetings!  "Seer: A Wizard's Journal", is my first book, and it was formally released yesterday, on the Feast of the Visitation. "Seer" is a collection of parables, pictures, poems, and polemics, and it takes the reader down unusual paths and byways that will hopefully amuse and intrigue.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 1st, 2012World Meeting of Families in Milanby Fr. Simon Henry

    Hundreds of thousands of people from over 140 countries are currently attending the World Meeting of Families in Milan to discuss issues affecting marriage and family life. Pope Benedict travels to Milan on Friday to meet with those attending the 5-day event and will remain in the northern Italian city until Sunday.

    » Continue Reading
  • June 1st, 2012Shakespeare: Defence and Defecationby Joseph Pearce

    I am grateful to "Recent Convert" for inspiring me to write posts in response to his comments. Yesterday I responded to his question about the Tolkien scholar, Tom Shippey; today I'm responding to the comment he appended to my post about the English Martyr, St. Luke Kirby. Specifically, "RC" wrote plaintively about the recent film, "Anonymous", in which the nonsense-notion that the Earl of Oxford wrote Shakespeare's plays is plunged to new levels of absurdity and depravity

    » Continue Reading
  • May 31st, 2012Voting Virtuouslyby Joseph Pearce

    Someone has just sent me this excellent video about the need to vote virtuously in the forthcoming elections. I'd seen it before but I don't think it's been posted to the Ink Desk. It's powerful, forthright and worth watching:

    » Continue Reading
  • May 31st, 2012The Real Crisis in Spainby Tom Kallene

    Some of you might have seen the headlines: Spain is in a terrible mess. “La Crisis” is the combined effort of the masters of usury, incompetent "leaders," corrupt officials and the (so-called) European Union.

    » Continue Reading
  • May 30th, 2012Tom Shippey & Tolkienby Joseph Pearce

    "Recent Convert", a regular contributor to the lively debate and discussion here on the Ink Desk, asked me, in a comment to my recent post on "The Philosophy of Tolkien", what I thought of the work of Tom Shippey, one of the world's leading Tolkien scholars. I would respond as follows:

    » Continue Reading
  • May 30th, 2012Waugh and Pearce Revisitedby Joseph Pearce

    The poet, James Morris, has just sent me an old issue of the Evelyn Waugh Newsletter and Studies (Winter 2006) in which reviews of two of my books, Literary Converts and Literary Giants, Literary Catholics, are published. Neither review can be described as glowing and, indeed, both might be said to damn with faint praise. I even detect an element of supercilious condescension all too common in book reviews written by those who are self-consciously "academic". Nonetheless, I found the reviews of interest and am posting them in the hope that others might do so al

    » Continue Reading
  • May 30th, 2012Saint Luke Kirby – English Martyrby Joseph Pearce

    Today is the feast day of St. Joan of Arc, Patron of France, who was burned to death by the English on this day in 1431. It is also the feast day of St. Luke Kirby, English Martyr, who was put to death by the English on this day in 1582. A convert to Catholicism, Kirby was ordained to the priesthood in 1577 and took the oath of the English College of Rome on St. George’s Day, 1579 (Shakespeare’s fifteenth birthday).

    » Continue Reading
  • May 30th, 2012A Rose-Breasted Meditationby Joseph Pearce

    A few weeks ago, whilst eating breakfast at our home in South Carolina, I was startled by the sight of a bird that I’d never seen before. Like me, it was enjoying its breakfast, eating the sunflower seeds from the bird-feeder on our deck. I stared transfixed at the novelty of its beauty, a configuration of colours on which my virgin eyes had never before feasted. It was large, about the size of a cardinal, and wore a resplendent red bib on its white breast. Its head was black and its wings, also black, were streaked with white. The newcomer did not seem to know the established rules of the pecking order, standing its ground when a cardinal, the customary ruler of the roost, sought to establish its dominance. The cardinal, bemused by this lack of decorum, gave way to the usurping upstart.

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 62 of 114 pages « First  <  60 61 62 63 64 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?