Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • October 5th, 2012The Day I Said Yes to the Holy Spiritby Kevin O'Brien

    Yes, he was the most important person in my life, but I had had enough of him.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 4th, 2012Anatomy of Betrayalby Kevin O'Brien

    First, none of us has been betrayed the way Jesus was betrayed by Judas.  The slights we endure from friends, family, enemies and others can never quite measure up to that betrayal unto torture and death.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 4th, 2012Preview of the Next Issueby Joseph Pearce

    The next issue of the StAR is currently with our illustrious constellation of proof readers and will be winging its way to the printer next week. The theme of the November/December issue is "Faith & Freedom". These are the highlights:

    » Continue Reading
  • October 4th, 2012Blinded by Beauty?by Joseph Pearce

    The ever lucid Stratford Caldecott has written a superb review of a new book on the importance of beauty. Here it is:

    » Continue Reading
  • October 2nd, 2012The Influence of St. Josemaria Escriváby Joseph Pearce

    I've just had my attention drawn to the fact that an interview I gave in Rome last year about the influence of St. Josemaria Escrivá on my life has just been posted on the Opus Dei website. Those interested in seeing this short two or three minute video should connect to the site and scroll down the right hand column until confronted with my picture: http://opusdei.org/

    » Continue Reading
  • October 2nd, 2012A Feast of Chestertonby Joseph Pearce

    I returned home on Sunday night after a veritable feast of Chesterton in Upstate New York.

    On Friday I spoke at a Chesterton Conference in Buffalo to a gathering of more than a hundred enthusiastic Chestertonians at Blessed Sacrament church. My topic was "the humour and humlitity of Chesterton". Dale Ahlquist, President of the American Chesterton Society, spoke on "the bold and noble honour of fighting for the Faith", or something along those lines; and Kevin O'Brien, director of Theatre of the Word Incorporated and StAR columnist and blogger, gave a talk on his own work, interspersed with video clips, including a comedy skit starring the hilariously absurd Catholic modernist, Standford Nutting, and a scene from the new fim adaptation of Chesterton's novel, Manalive.  

    » Continue Reading
  • October 1st, 2012Introducing Laudamus Teby Joseph Pearce

     

    I'm in receipt of this press release about a new publication dedicated to enlightening people about the form and beauty of the Extraordinary Form of the Mass.

     

    » Continue Reading
  • October 1st, 2012Flailing in the Fog of Nonsenseby Joseph Pearce

    Poor old A. N. Wilson ... I can't help liking him and have a fondness for him dating back to my first reading of his biography of Hilaire Belloc in the mid-eighties. I am also indebted to him for his kindness towards me, especially in the very positive review he wrote of my own biography of Belloc. He is, however, a somewhat pathetic figure. Several months ago I wrote a post on the Ink Desk in response to the news that he had rediscovered his Christian faith after years in the wilderness of materialism. I rejoiced at this return to faith but expressed my disappointment that he had not embraced the One, True Faith established by Christ Himself. Instead he had returned to the Anglican faith from which he had earlier lapsed. I likened such a choice to that of a drowning man who chooses to clamber aboard a sinking ship.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 30th, 2012What Sayers Saysby Kevin O'Brien

    A friend on Facebook linked to a remarkable essay by Dorothy L. Sayers, delivered as an address in 1940, entitled Creed or Chaos

    » Continue Reading
  • September 30th, 2012From Our Lady of Victory to St. Mary of Victoriesby Kevin O'Brien

    The weekend saw us at the beautiful Our Lady of Victory basillica in Buffalo, New York.  Here I am with Joseph Pearce and Dale Ahlquist in front of the Lourdes grotto and the tomb of Father Baker.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 29th, 2012Sometimes…by Abigail C. Reimel

    Sometimes one man’s calling requires that he be different than all the rest; that in following it he must go down paths where none may follow.  It is not easy for him, and he must face many hardships alone.  The rest of the world looks at him and can tell he is different, but they do not see the suffering on his face- hidden beneath his smile.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 29th, 2012Not About Educationby Dena Hunt

    Joseph’s recent post on the “traditio” seminar at Thomas More College brought education to mind. I try to avoid thinking about that subject—I don’t like to get all worked up about things I can do nothing about.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 27th, 2012Travels in New York and New Englandby Joseph Pearce

    Tomorrow morning, at the crack of dawn, or actually an hour or two before it, I depart for Buffalo, New York, to speak at a Chesterton Conference, along with my two good Chestertonian friends, Dale Ahlquist, President of the American Chesterton Society, and Kevin O'Brien, Director of the Theatre of the Word Incorporated, the latter of whom will be well known to visitors to the Ink Desk as a blogger extraordinaire. Those interested in attending should contact Philip Viverito: pviverito11@mac.com.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 27th, 2012Traditio: A New Series of All-College Seminarsby Joseph Pearce

    Fall 2012 marked the beginning of a regular series of all-College readings, lectures, and performances known as Traditio—the Latin phrase for tradition or the handing down of stories and learning.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 27th, 2012Shakespeare, the Supreme Court, and Child Pornographyby Joseph Pearce

    I've been sent an e-mail which highlights the ultimate "abuse" (no pun intended) of the "innocent theme" in Romeo and Juliet.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 25th, 2012Snergs, Hobbits and Whizzing Biscuitsby Joseph Pearce

    If nothing else, the title of this post must rate as one of the oddest ever to grace the pages of the Ink Desk. For those confused by the unlikely connection between snergs, hobbits and baked projectiles the answer is to be found in the comment posted to a very old post of mine entitled "What Would Tolkien Read?", posted way back on June 5th. Since the comment was unlikely to be read by many people, marooned as it was in the dim recessess of the archives that time has forgotten, I've resurrected it for the delectation of Ink Desk visitors. Without further ado, I invite you to read on.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 25th, 2012A to Z with C.S. Lewisby Joseph Pearce

    I have just heard from the indomitable Louis Markos that he is currently running "the A to Z of C. S. Lewis" on his website. For those who are unfamiliar with Markos, he is the author of numeous books and has taught the course on Lewis for the Great Courses series: www.thegreatcourses.com/tgc/courses/course_detail.aspx?cid=297. As one of the world's leading Lewis experts, he is ideally suited to write this series of short essays. Every week throughout the current academic year he will post a new 600-word essay on his site: twenty-six essays over twenty-six weeks covering the full alphabetic panorama of all things Lewisian. Last week he began the A to Z with "Aslan". This week is "Beauty", next week will be "Courage" and so on. This series is not to be missed! See Louis Markos' website:

    www.loumarkos.com

    » Continue Reading
  • September 22nd, 2012Magic and Wonderby Jef Murray

    Pieter Collier, of The Tolkien Library, has just published an interview we conducted this last week on Seer, on J.R.R. Tolkien, on C.S. Lewis, and on magic and wonder in general. Do take a look!

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012Confessions of a Fornicatorby Joseph Pearce

    I'm sure many visitors to the Ink Desk have already seen this excellent trailer to the new film based on St. Augustine's incomparable Confessions but I'm posting it to make sure that as many people as possible are made aware of this important and must-see movie:

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012A New Platform for Catholic Writersby Joseph Pearce

    In the knowledge that many Catholic writers viit the Ink Desk, I'm posting a letter I've just received from Human Life International announcing the launching of a new online publication and an invitaiton for Catholic writers to contribute to it by submitting suitable articles. Enough said. Here's the text of the letter:

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 57 of 119 pages « First  <  55 56 57 58 59 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?