Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • October 10th, 2012GKC in Londonby Sophia Mason

    London in November doesn't sound like much fun I know (unless you're one of those crazy people, like your humble servant, who positively enjoys rotten weather); but I would defy anyone not to want to be in London this November for ... drumroll please! ... The G.K. Chesterton Institute for Faith & Culture's conference on "Chesterton @ the Daily News."

    » Continue Reading
  • October 10th, 2012The Stepford Serversby Joseph Pearce

    Recently I found myself at LaGuardia airport in New York, waiting for a connecting flight. With time on my hands I was drawn to a restaurant which had individual ipads at each table. Wishing to check my e-mails, and having not brought my laptop with me, I took a seat and waited in vain for a server to approach me.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 10th, 2012Brother Wine and Sister Laughterby Joseph Pearce

    This week I am in New Hampshire, teaching at Thomas More College and Mount Royal Academy.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 10th, 2012Used to Beby Sophia Mason

    So I was driving home Sunday night, listening to 88.5 FM as usual, and heard that Andy Williams had died.  Aside from the fact that he was a good singer, in the mode of Bing Crosby or Dean Martin, I knew (and still know) next to nothing about him.  But Ed Walker played a couple pieces of his that started me thinking.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 9th, 2012Faith and Freedomby Joseph Pearce

    In an unprecedented manner, I have decided to release the editorial for the forthcoming issue of StAR prior to its customary first publication in the journal itself. Having released it for exclusive first publication in Crisis Magazine last Friday, I am delighted to see that it has also been published on the Acton Institute's website and also on the Catholic Education site linked below. Although my editorials have never been published on the web before and are usually only available to those who subscribe to the print edition of StAR, I thought that the proximity of the forthcoming Presidential election made it prudent to publish it earlier than its scheduled publication in the November/December edition. Since it's already spreading through cyber-space, we might as well publish it on the Ink Desk also. Here's the link: http://www.catholiceducation.org/articles/philosophy/ph0115.htm

    » Continue Reading
  • October 9th, 2012Quiet is Better than a Karaoke Partyby Kevin O'Brien

    My wife Karen has me read to her the daily Mass readings, followed by commentaries from two different books.  The one book, as I've pointed out earlier, sometimes has dreadful commentaries.  Today's was pretty bad, for example.  Taking "you knit me together in my mother's womb" from Psalm 139, the commentary has the reader imagine his own birthday party, with God stepping up to the microphone to tell the reader how good the reader is and how God thinks about him all the time and can't take His eyes off him and thinks he's just grand, and so forth.  Yes, I know, I'm thinking what you're thinking.  Why does God need a microphone?

    » Continue Reading
  • October 7th, 2012Victory and Loveby Kevin O'Brien

    If we persist in love and persist in hope, carrying our crosses for that purpose, Victory is assured us.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 5th, 2012Homeschooled by My Childrenby Joseph Pearce

    I’ve been travelling a great deal lately and feeling the pangs of conscience for these protracted absences from my family. Yesterday, to compensate for the fact that I am once again about to leave my children to fulfill my teaching and speaking commitments, I declared the day a “playing day”, which my four-year-old usually associates with the weekends. Since I will be leaving for the airport at 5:30am tomorrow morning (ouch!), thereby confiscating the weekend’s play from my blameless child, I thought that the least I could do was devote a day of undivided attention to her.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 5th, 2012The Day I Said Yes to the Holy Spiritby Kevin O'Brien

    Yes, he was the most important person in my life, but I had had enough of him.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 4th, 2012Anatomy of Betrayalby Kevin O'Brien

    First, none of us has been betrayed the way Jesus was betrayed by Judas.  The slights we endure from friends, family, enemies and others can never quite measure up to that betrayal unto torture and death.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 4th, 2012Preview of the Next Issueby Joseph Pearce

    The next issue of the StAR is currently with our illustrious constellation of proof readers and will be winging its way to the printer next week. The theme of the November/December issue is "Faith & Freedom". These are the highlights:

    » Continue Reading
  • October 4th, 2012Blinded by Beauty?by Joseph Pearce

    The ever lucid Stratford Caldecott has written a superb review of a new book on the importance of beauty. Here it is:

    » Continue Reading
  • October 2nd, 2012The Influence of St. Josemaria Escriváby Joseph Pearce

    I've just had my attention drawn to the fact that an interview I gave in Rome last year about the influence of St. Josemaria Escrivá on my life has just been posted on the Opus Dei website. Those interested in seeing this short two or three minute video should connect to the site and scroll down the right hand column until confronted with my picture: http://opusdei.org/

    » Continue Reading
  • October 2nd, 2012A Feast of Chestertonby Joseph Pearce

    I returned home on Sunday night after a veritable feast of Chesterton in Upstate New York.

    On Friday I spoke at a Chesterton Conference in Buffalo to a gathering of more than a hundred enthusiastic Chestertonians at Blessed Sacrament church. My topic was "the humour and humlitity of Chesterton". Dale Ahlquist, President of the American Chesterton Society, spoke on "the bold and noble honour of fighting for the Faith", or something along those lines; and Kevin O'Brien, director of Theatre of the Word Incorporated and StAR columnist and blogger, gave a talk on his own work, interspersed with video clips, including a comedy skit starring the hilariously absurd Catholic modernist, Standford Nutting, and a scene from the new fim adaptation of Chesterton's novel, Manalive.  

    » Continue Reading
  • October 1st, 2012Introducing Laudamus Teby Joseph Pearce

     

    I'm in receipt of this press release about a new publication dedicated to enlightening people about the form and beauty of the Extraordinary Form of the Mass.

     

    » Continue Reading
  • October 1st, 2012Flailing in the Fog of Nonsenseby Joseph Pearce

    Poor old A. N. Wilson ... I can't help liking him and have a fondness for him dating back to my first reading of his biography of Hilaire Belloc in the mid-eighties. I am also indebted to him for his kindness towards me, especially in the very positive review he wrote of my own biography of Belloc. He is, however, a somewhat pathetic figure. Several months ago I wrote a post on the Ink Desk in response to the news that he had rediscovered his Christian faith after years in the wilderness of materialism. I rejoiced at this return to faith but expressed my disappointment that he had not embraced the One, True Faith established by Christ Himself. Instead he had returned to the Anglican faith from which he had earlier lapsed. I likened such a choice to that of a drowning man who chooses to clamber aboard a sinking ship.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 30th, 2012What Sayers Saysby Kevin O'Brien

    A friend on Facebook linked to a remarkable essay by Dorothy L. Sayers, delivered as an address in 1940, entitled Creed or Chaos

    » Continue Reading
  • September 30th, 2012From Our Lady of Victory to St. Mary of Victoriesby Kevin O'Brien

    The weekend saw us at the beautiful Our Lady of Victory basillica in Buffalo, New York.  Here I am with Joseph Pearce and Dale Ahlquist in front of the Lourdes grotto and the tomb of Father Baker.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 29th, 2012Sometimes…by Abigail C. Reimel

    Sometimes one man’s calling requires that he be different than all the rest; that in following it he must go down paths where none may follow.  It is not easy for him, and he must face many hardships alone.  The rest of the world looks at him and can tell he is different, but they do not see the suffering on his face- hidden beneath his smile.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 29th, 2012Not About Educationby Dena Hunt

    Joseph’s recent post on the “traditio” seminar at Thomas More College brought education to mind. I try to avoid thinking about that subject—I don’t like to get all worked up about things I can do nothing about.

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 56 of 118 pages « First  <  54 55 56 57 58 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?