Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • October 1st, 2012Flailing in the Fog of Nonsenseby Joseph Pearce

    Poor old A. N. Wilson ... I can't help liking him and have a fondness for him dating back to my first reading of his biography of Hilaire Belloc in the mid-eighties. I am also indebted to him for his kindness towards me, especially in the very positive review he wrote of my own biography of Belloc. He is, however, a somewhat pathetic figure. Several months ago I wrote a post on the Ink Desk in response to the news that he had rediscovered his Christian faith after years in the wilderness of materialism. I rejoiced at this return to faith but expressed my disappointment that he had not embraced the One, True Faith established by Christ Himself. Instead he had returned to the Anglican faith from which he had earlier lapsed. I likened such a choice to that of a drowning man who chooses to clamber aboard a sinking ship.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 30th, 2012What Sayers Saysby Kevin O'Brien

    A friend on Facebook linked to a remarkable essay by Dorothy L. Sayers, delivered as an address in 1940, entitled Creed or Chaos

    » Continue Reading
  • September 30th, 2012From Our Lady of Victory to St. Mary of Victoriesby Kevin O'Brien

    The weekend saw us at the beautiful Our Lady of Victory basillica in Buffalo, New York.  Here I am with Joseph Pearce and Dale Ahlquist in front of the Lourdes grotto and the tomb of Father Baker.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 29th, 2012Sometimes…by Abigail C. Reimel

    Sometimes one man’s calling requires that he be different than all the rest; that in following it he must go down paths where none may follow.  It is not easy for him, and he must face many hardships alone.  The rest of the world looks at him and can tell he is different, but they do not see the suffering on his face- hidden beneath his smile.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 29th, 2012Not About Educationby Dena Hunt

    Joseph’s recent post on the “traditio” seminar at Thomas More College brought education to mind. I try to avoid thinking about that subject—I don’t like to get all worked up about things I can do nothing about.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 27th, 2012Travels in New York and New Englandby Joseph Pearce

    Tomorrow morning, at the crack of dawn, or actually an hour or two before it, I depart for Buffalo, New York, to speak at a Chesterton Conference, along with my two good Chestertonian friends, Dale Ahlquist, President of the American Chesterton Society, and Kevin O'Brien, Director of the Theatre of the Word Incorporated, the latter of whom will be well known to visitors to the Ink Desk as a blogger extraordinaire. Those interested in attending should contact Philip Viverito: pviverito11@mac.com.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 27th, 2012Traditio: A New Series of All-College Seminarsby Joseph Pearce

    Fall 2012 marked the beginning of a regular series of all-College readings, lectures, and performances known as Traditio—the Latin phrase for tradition or the handing down of stories and learning.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 27th, 2012Shakespeare, the Supreme Court, and Child Pornographyby Joseph Pearce

    I've been sent an e-mail which highlights the ultimate "abuse" (no pun intended) of the "innocent theme" in Romeo and Juliet.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 25th, 2012Snergs, Hobbits and Whizzing Biscuitsby Joseph Pearce

    If nothing else, the title of this post must rate as one of the oddest ever to grace the pages of the Ink Desk. For those confused by the unlikely connection between snergs, hobbits and baked projectiles the answer is to be found in the comment posted to a very old post of mine entitled "What Would Tolkien Read?", posted way back on June 5th. Since the comment was unlikely to be read by many people, marooned as it was in the dim recessess of the archives that time has forgotten, I've resurrected it for the delectation of Ink Desk visitors. Without further ado, I invite you to read on.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 25th, 2012A to Z with C.S. Lewisby Joseph Pearce

    I have just heard from the indomitable Louis Markos that he is currently running "the A to Z of C. S. Lewis" on his website. For those who are unfamiliar with Markos, he is the author of numeous books and has taught the course on Lewis for the Great Courses series: www.thegreatcourses.com/tgc/courses/course_detail.aspx?cid=297. As one of the world's leading Lewis experts, he is ideally suited to write this series of short essays. Every week throughout the current academic year he will post a new 600-word essay on his site: twenty-six essays over twenty-six weeks covering the full alphabetic panorama of all things Lewisian. Last week he began the A to Z with "Aslan". This week is "Beauty", next week will be "Courage" and so on. This series is not to be missed! See Louis Markos' website:

    www.loumarkos.com

    » Continue Reading
  • September 22nd, 2012Magic and Wonderby Jef Murray

    Pieter Collier, of The Tolkien Library, has just published an interview we conducted this last week on Seer, on J.R.R. Tolkien, on C.S. Lewis, and on magic and wonder in general. Do take a look!

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012Confessions of a Fornicatorby Joseph Pearce

    I'm sure many visitors to the Ink Desk have already seen this excellent trailer to the new film based on St. Augustine's incomparable Confessions but I'm posting it to make sure that as many people as possible are made aware of this important and must-see movie:

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012A New Platform for Catholic Writersby Joseph Pearce

    In the knowledge that many Catholic writers viit the Ink Desk, I'm posting a letter I've just received from Human Life International announcing the launching of a new online publication and an invitaiton for Catholic writers to contribute to it by submitting suitable articles. Enough said. Here's the text of the letter:

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012Mastering Apologeticsby Joseph Pearce

    The St. Austin Review has always advocated education as if truth mattered, as the theme of a recent issue illustrated. This being so, I'd like to draw attention to an exciting new program at Houston Baptist University. It's a Masters in Apologetics, which pays due attention to the connection between faith and reason and to the importance of art and literature to what might be termed cultural apologtics, or evangelizing through the power of beauty.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012Politics and Narcissismby Joseph Pearce

    I'm continuing to wade through the submissions for the next issue of the St. Austin Review. Here's another book review that has not made the final cut for inclusion in the print edition of StAR but is worthy of being posted and read on the Ink Desk:

    » Continue Reading
  • September 21st, 2012Reviewby Joseph Pearce

    ... of Marian Apparitions, the Bible, and the Modern World

    By Donal Foley

    (Gracewing, £2)

    » Continue Reading
  • September 20th, 2012A Musical Oasis in the Ghettoby Joseph Pearce

    In a recent post I commented on the beauty of the liturgy at the London Oratory, particularly at the 11am Latin Mass. Yesterday, whilst listening in the car to Paul Paray's sublime "Pastorale de Noël", I was reminded of the beautiful liturgy at the Assumption Grotto in Detroit, a veritable oasis of sanity and sanctity in the midst of the madness of the motown ghetto.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 20th, 2012Chesterton, Heretics and Hippy Nunsby Joseph Pearce

    It's over a century since G. K. Chesterton wrote What's Wrong with the World but the book is as relevant as ever. An article in today's Crisis Magazine shows how Chesterton's attack on early twentieth century heretics serves as an equally applicable critique of today's cafeteria Catolics and modernist nuns.

    » Continue Reading
  • September 20th, 2012Marriage, The Rock on Which the Family is Builtby Joseph Pearce

    I'm currently sifting through the mountain of articles submitted for possible publication in the next issue of the St. Austin Review. One of the challenges of editing the magazine is dealing with this embarrassment of riches, whereby it is simply impossible to publish everything one would like. It is for this reason that I've decided to publish some of the articles on the Ink Desk for which there is no room in the print edition. Here is Geneva Leonard's review of William May's book on the Catholic teaching on marriage:

    » Continue Reading
  • September 19th, 2012Curious George and the Dragonby Joseph Pearce

    As a mark of what I fear is over-scrupulosity, I am suffering from guilt-pangs for acting unjustly towards a cartoon chimpanzee!

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 56 of 117 pages « First  <  54 55 56 57 58 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?