Welcome to the Ink Desk

Enjoy the ponderings of the Star's contributors and add your own thoughts. As this section develops, we hope it may become a medium for an exchange of ideas among those who are working towards the cultural revival.

  • November 8th, 2012Ponderingsby Jef Murray

    Troubled times are coming. Just as Treebeard saw his world change, so are we seeing ours…

    » Continue Reading
  • November 5th, 2012Diary of the Wandering Joeby Joseph Pearce

    Having returned home for only a day from my most recent sojourn in New Hampshire, at which I taught at Thomas More College and Mount Royal Academy, I now find myself in Fort Collins, Colorado, for a speaking engagement at Colorado State University. Upon arrival in New Hampshire, I spoke to a gathering of homeschooling parents and teenage homeschoolers on fantasy literature in general and the work of Tolkien and Lewis in particular. It was a convivial evening, enlivened by a vigorous debate on the merits or otherwise of the Harry Potter books. On the following evening, I led a discussion with students, teachers and parents at Mount Royal Academy in Sunapee on Chesterton's Father Brown and Tolkien's Leaf by Niggle. Next morning, I taught juniors and seniors at Mount Royal Academy in classes on Homer's Odyssey and Chaucer's Nun's Priest's Tale and in the afternoon taught classes on Catholic political philosophy in the light of the teachings of Pope Benedict.

    » Continue Reading
  • November 3rd, 2012A Rant on Views and Reviewsby Dena Hunt

    Those among us who perceive how our contemporary creed of relativism has confused morality are sometimes bemused by the creed’s other casualties among cultural expressions. We are reduced often now to asking “definition” questions like: Well, what IS marriage anyway? What IS love? What do we mean when we say “peace with justice” or “Just exactly what is ‘tolerance’, anyway?” Stuff like that. We hear it all the time. We are constantly asking ourselves and each other what we mean.

    » Continue Reading
  • November 3rd, 2012Exposing the Scandal of Gendercideby Joseph Pearce

    Lord David Alton, a powerful pro-life voice in the British House of Lords, has just sent me the text of a speech he recently gave to expose the scandal of gendercide, the systematic extermination of girls in the womb.
    » Continue Reading
  • November 2nd, 2012The Faith in Blackby Fr. Simon Henry

    A couple of weeks ago in one of the comments (anonymous) the readers of this blog were referred to as "mostly right-wingers".  I've been meaning to take the person to task, as being described as "right-wing" or even "traditional" is one of my bug-bears.  One of the speakers at the Confraternity Conference in Reading (I think it was Archbishop De Noia) also mentioned that he took great exception to secular tags being applied to faith matters. I consider myself neither left nor right wing when  it comes to the Church, neither conservative nor liberal, neither traditional nor liberal but simply ORTHODOX.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 31st, 2012A Picture of Oscar Wildeby Joseph Pearce

    A correspondent has sent me his MA thesis on Wilde's Picture of Dorian Gray. Although the thesis argues convincingly for the Catholic aesthetic of the novel it contains what I consider to be a few problems. I thought that my observations might be of interest to visitors to the Ink Desk.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 30th, 2012America the Beautifulby Joseph Pearce

    In the light or darkness of the presidential election campaign, I have found much solace in the beauty of the American landscape. My travels over the past few weeks have taken me to Utah, where I had the opportunity to hike off-trail in the Rockies overlooking Ogden Canyon, and now to New Hampshire, where, in spite of the weather, I have been hiking round lakes and through autumnal woodland. In between, I climbed to Rainbow Falls in South Carolina, with my good friend, Father Dwight Longenecker, and cycled alongside the Reedy River from Greenville to Furman University, with my irrepressible four-year-old daughter babbling on excitedly from the saddle behind me. Life does not get much better than this!

    » Continue Reading
  • October 30th, 2012The Power of Hopeby Joseph Pearce

    There has been something of the smudge of smuttiness staining the United States over the past few months. The lies, counter-lies and statistics of the Presidential election have sullied the atmosphere of honest debate on the most important of issues. As election day approaches, the deluded mob threatens to storm the bastion of marriage, much as an earlier deluded mob stormed the Bastille. As the undemocratic nature of plutocratic macro-"democracy" descends to the level of mob rule, I am reminded of the words of the poet, Gerard Manley Hopkins, that "all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil; and wears man's smudge, and shares man's smell". The sin of man seems to stain everything it touches, choking virtue in its vice-like grip.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 29th, 2012St. Thomas: Heaven Haven in the Stormby Joseph Pearce

    As I write we are battening down the hatches here in New Hampshire, the home in which I'm staying being battered by the storm that is rather absurdly called Sandy. Classes are cancelled at Thomas More College tomorrow so I'm expecting to have unexpected time on my hands. Perhaps tomorrow, if we have not lost power, I might write something more lengthy and weighty for the Ink Desk. Tonight, however, I'd like to share an excellent quote about Thomism from The Intellectual Life by A. D. Sertillanges, O.P.:

    » Continue Reading
  • October 28th, 2012Thinking and Beingby Joseph Pearce

    Colin Jory has sent me the text of a letter that he has sent to the New Scientist. It is a superbly succinct rebuttal of the reductionist error of the Cartesian maxim, Gogito ergo sum (I think, therefore I am).

    » Continue Reading
  • October 28th, 2012Lost and Foundby Dena Hunt

    Language can obscure truth, sometimes charitably, euphemistically, to avoid giving offense to others; but also sometimes to protect ourselves from what we don’t want to see. When the latter motive is in play, untangling the knotted web of deceit can be a slow, sometimes interrupted, step-by-step process, which can take months, even years, until the last knot is untangled and “suddenly” the whole thing is revealed. We feel shock then, but when the shock is past, we look back and see clearly what was so obscure before.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 26th, 2012The Thirteen Worst Reviews of Classic Booksby Joseph Pearce

    Publisher's Weekly has published an amusing list of what it claims are the worst reviews of classic books. Read and enjoy:

    » Continue Reading
  • October 26th, 2012A Celestial ABC: Advent, Benedictines, Chantby Joseph Pearce

    My good friend Christopher Check of Catholic Answers has sent a link to a five minute press release by the Benedictines of Mary Queen of Apostles in Missouri. I recommend that you take five minutes from the busy schedule of your day to watch this short and uplifting video, which promotes a new CD of chant for Advent by the sisters. You will be edified and inspired, not least by the sight of a Benedictine Prioress who looks as though she should still be in college!

    » Continue Reading
  • October 25th, 2012Maturing in Graceby Kevin O'Brien

    "Therefore let us leave the elementary teachings about Christ and go on to maturity" - Hebrews 6:1

    » Continue Reading
  • October 25th, 2012Sins of Omission and the English Martyrsby Joseph Pearce

    The Catholic calendar on the wall beside my desk lists yesterday as the feast of St. Anthony Mary Claret and the day before yesterday as the feast of St. John of Capistrano. Today, however, is blank. Apparently, or so it would seem, the Church does not celebrate the feast of any particular saint today. Most Catholics, even devout Catholics who try to keep an eye on the saint of the day, will remain woefully ignorant of the fact that today is the Feast of the Forty Martyrs of England and Wales.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 24th, 2012Faith, Football and Familyby Joseph Pearce

    I know very little about football (the American variety), though I enjoy watching it on the rare occasions when time and opportunity permit. I was, however, very pleased to see in the latest issue of The Remnant that a leading NFL player has taken a courageous stand in defence of marriage. Matt Birk of the Baltimore Ravens and formerly of the Minnesota Vikings went public in the press about his support for the Minnesota Marriage Protection Amendment, a bold stance that has sent shockwaves across the NFL.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 24th, 2012The Anchoress Weeps over the Knox Bibleby Robert Asch

    Ronald Knox's achievement depends in no small degree on his astonishing translation of the Vulgate, which some - including Evelyn Waugh - have considered one of the landmarks of twentieth century English literature. It is certainly a great translation, in some of its strengths unique. I wouldn't be without it.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 24th, 2012Defending Pius XIIby Joseph Pearce

    Colin Jory has responded to my post about Pius XII with some memories of his own about the great Pope and with a poem commemorating Pius' death by the Australian poet, A. D. Hope. Both are worth sharing ...

    » Continue Reading
  • October 23rd, 2012Prince Charles and Bilbo Bagginsby Joseph Pearce

    Who would have guessed it? Prince Charles, the heir to the British throne, is a great admirer of J. R. R. Tolkien! Here's the evidence.

    » Continue Reading
  • October 22nd, 2012The Best of London and Parisby Joseph Pearce

    A friend of mine has just written to ask for recommendations of places to visit in London and Paris this weekend. Considering that visitors to the Ink Desk might also be planning or hoping to visit England or France, I thought I'd share my recommendations here. This is my reply to my friend:

    » Continue Reading
  • Page 55 of 119 pages « First  <  53 54 55 56 57 >  Last »

What are your thoughts on the subject?